People

Erin Bayne

Professor
Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science
Email: bayne@ualberta.ca
Web site: bioacoustic.abmi.ca
Research Interests: Cumulative effects; bioacoustics; avian ecology; environmental impact assessment; sound triangulation; deep learning; automated song identification


Carol Boliek

Professor
Communication Sciences & Disorders, Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Email: carol.boliek@ualberta.ca
Research Interests: Speech motor control, development, speech physiology, neuroplasticity, motor speech disorders, transcranial direct current stimulation, intermuscular coherence


Vadim Bulitko

Associate Professor
Computing Science, Faculty of Science
Email: bulitko@ualberta.ca
Web site: cs.ualberta.ca/~bulitko
Research Interests: cognitive processes and models in humans, animals and computers; real-time heuristic search


Corjan Buma

Adjunct / Laboratory Manager
Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering
Email: meanu@ualberta.ca
Web site: mece.ualberta.ca/meanu


Jason Carey

Professor, Associate Dean (Programs and Planning)
Faculty of Engineering
Email: jason.carey@ualberta.ca
Web site: mece.ualberta.ca/~jpcarey/index.html
Research Interests: Composite materials; tissue mechanics; orthodontics; rehabilitation; design


Laurier Fagnan

Professor
Campus Saint-Jean
Email: lfagnan@ualberta.ca
Web sites:

Research Interests: Vocal technique; Singing Voice; Vocal /Choral Acoustics; Acoustic Analysis; Choral Conducting; Choral Singing; Bel Canto Vocal Pedagogy; Vocology; Speaking Voice Production


Michael Frishkopf

Professor
Music, Faculty of Arts

Adjunct Professor, Religious Studies
Adjunct Professor, Division of Community Engagement, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Email: michaelf@ualberta.ca
Web site: frishkopf.org
Research Interests: ethnomusicology; music, sound, and architecture; (virtual [world) music]; sonic architecture; sounds of Islam; digital repositories; deep learning for sound recognition


Bill Hodgetts

Associate Professor
Communication Sciences & Disorders, Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Email: bill.hodgetts@ualberta.ca
Research Interests: Only 1 in 5 people who need a hearing aid actually have one. Understanding why this discrepancy exists involves looking at the technology, psychology and public awareness around hearing aids and services. I have two key research areas: 1) How do we improve upon the prescription, fitting and verification procedures for bone conduction hearing aids? and 2) How do we improve uptake and adherence to hearing services?


Mary Ingraham

Professor
Music, Faculty of Arts
Email: maryi@ualberta.ca
Web sites:

Research Interests: sound studies, including listening, the materiality of experience, and the role of sounds and media in cultural preservation and memory; histories of music in Canada; expressions of interculturality


Sean Luyk

Music Librarian
Information and Library Science, Faculty of Education
Email: sean.luyk@ualberta.ca
Web site: sites.google.com/a/ualberta.ca/sean-luyk
Research Interests: Digital audio, listening, multimedia repositories, music research data


Elena Nicoladis

Professor
Psychology, Faculty of Arts
Email: elenan@ualberta.ca
Web site: gladlab.weebly.com
Research Interests: Gestures, language and development


Michael O’Driscoll

Professor
English and Film Studies, Faculty of Arts
Email: mo@ualberta.ca
Web site: ualberta.ca/arts/about/people-collection/michael-o’driscoll
Research Interests: Critical and cultural theory; material culture studies; archive theory; intermedia studies; oral literary performance; literary sound objects; radical poetics


Scott Smallwood

Associate Professor
Music, Faculty of Arts
Email: scott.smallwood@ualberta.ca
Web sites:

Research Interests: field recording / acoustic ecology, new interfaces for musical expression (NIME), solarsonics (solar-powered sound making), audio gaming, ambisonics, multichannel audio


Colleen Cassady St. Clair

Professor
Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science
Email: cstclair@ualberta.ca
Web sites:

Research Interests: effects of anthropogenic noise on wildlife communication and health; sensory perceptions by wildlife of anthropogenic sounds as deterrents, attractants, and learned associations (e.g., cues or warnings) in complex landscapes


Christopher Sturdy

Professor
Psychology, Faculty of Science
Email: csturdy@ualberta.ca
Web site: ualberta.ca/science/about-us/contact-us/faculty-directory/christopher-sturdy
Research Interests: comparative cognition, neuroethology, songbirds, perception, animal behaviour, operant conditioning, bioacoustics


Benjamin V. Tucker

Associate Professor
Linguistics, Faculty of Arts
Email: bvtucker@ualberta.ca
Web site: www.ualberta.ca/~bvtucker/
Alberta Phonetics Laboratory: aphl.artsrn.ualberta.ca/
Research Interests: Phonetics, psycholinguistics, laboratory phonology, field
linguistics, language documentation and revitalization

Dr. Mary Ingraham

Director
Sound Studies Initiative, University of Alberta
3-47 Arts Building
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2E6

Phone: (780) 492-7887
E-mail: soundstudies@ualberta.ca

 

Brianna Wells

Administrative Assistant
Sound Studies Initiative, University of Alberta
3-47 Old Arts Building,
Edmonton, AB, Canada, T6G 2E6

 

Laurelle Miciak

Communications & Web Assistant
Sound Studies Initiative, University of Alberta
3-47 Old Arts Building,
Edmonton, AB, Canada, T6G 2E6

E-mail: miciak@ualberta.ca

 

Dana Wylie

Programming & Community Outreach
Sound Studies Initiative, University of Alberta
3-47 Old Arts Building,
Edmonton, AB, Canada, T6G 2E6

E-mail: dowylie@ualberta.ca