Affiliated Researchers

Anja Arnhold

Assistant Professor, Department of Linguistics, Faculty of Arts
arnhold@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: prosody, phonetics, phonology, Inuit and Uralic languages


Daniel Aalto

Assistant Professor, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Research Scientist, Institute for Reconstructive Sciences in Medicine
aalto@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: computer modelling of speech, swallowing, and chewing; functional impact of head and neck surgery; digital surgical design and planning


Jaimie Baron

Associate Professor, Film Studies, Faculty of Arts
jaimie.baron@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: film and media theory, audiovisual appropriation, experimental film and video, documentary film and video, historiography, ethics, the history of technology and the mediation of human experience, digital media, critical race studies, media and criminal justice, media as a form of ventriloquism


Erin Bayne

Professor, Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science
bayne@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: bioacoustics; avian ecology; environmental impact assessment; sound triangulation; deep learning; automated birdsong identification


Carol Boliek

Professor, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
carol.boliek@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: speech motor control, development, speech physiology, neuroplasticity, motor speech disorders, transcranial direct current stimulation, intermuscular coherence


Vadim Bulitko

Professor, Computing Science, Faculty of Science
bulitko@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: cognitive processes and models in humans, animals and computers; real-time heuristic search


Corjan Buma

Adjunct / Laboratory Manager, Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering
meanu@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: architectural acoustics, acoustic engineering, noise


Julia Byl

Assistant Professor, Music, Faculty of Arts
jbyl@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: ethnomusicology, sound in the archive, the individual and the institution, ephemerality of performance, sonic magic in Southeast Asia, sound in poetry, genre mixing


Jason Carey

Professor, Associate Dean (Programs and Planning)
Faculty of Engineering
jason.carey@ualberta.ca
Website

Research Interests:  Vibrations and acoustics of advanced materials; biomechanics of airway soft tissues


Liz Czach

Associate Professor, Department of English and Film Studies, Faculty of Arts
liz.czach@ualberta.ca
Website

Research Interests: Film music, film sound technology, animation, Canadian cinema


Astrid Ensslin

Professor, Digital Humanities; Modern Languages and Cultural Studies, Faculty of Arts
ensslin@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: language in gaming, speech accents in games (SAG), literary gaming, digital fictions and digital narratives, digital feminisms, communication and media discourse


Laurier Fagnan

Professor, Music, Campus Saint-Jean
lfagnan@ualberta.ca
Web sites:
http://belcantolab.csj.ualberta.ca/
https://choralesaintjean.ca/le-choeur/laurier-fagnan

Research interests: vocal and choral acoustics, acoustic analysis of singing, Bel Canto vocal pedagogy, vocology, speaking voice production, choral conducting


Brian Fauteux

Assistant Professor, Popular Music and Media Studies, Faculty of Arts
fauteux@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: popular music studies, sound studies, music radio, music and media industries, music scenes, campus radio, cultural policy, media history


Michael Frishkopf

Professor, Music, Faculty of Arts
Adjunct Professor, Religious Studies
Adjunct Professor, Division of Community Engagement, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
michaelf@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: ethnomusicology, (virtual [world) music], sonic architecture, music and religion, digital repositories, deep learning for sound recognition, social network analysis


Christine Guptill

Assistant Professor, Department of Occupational Therapy, Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
guptill@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: musicians’ health and well-being, prevention of work disability in performing artists through education at tertiary and professional levels, social determinants of heath and their impact on performing artists (including education, income, benefits, gender, and working conditions)


Bill Hodgetts

Professor, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
bill.hodgetts@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: technology, psychology, and public awareness around hearing aids and services, bone conduction hearing aids, non-auditory factors in auditory treatment contexts, the relationship between hearing and reading in hearing loss and dyslexia contexts


Abram Hindle

Associate Professor, Computing Science, Faculty of Science
abram.hindle@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: computer music, sound synthesis, AI & sound, new interfaces for musical expression (NIME), music information retrieval, machine learning, power consumption analysis


Mary Ingraham

Dean of Fine Arts, University of Lethbridge
finearts.dean@uleth.ca
Website

Research interests: sound studies, listening, the materiality of experience, the role of sounds and media in cultural preservation and memory, histories of music in Canada, expressions of interculturality


Matina Kalcounis-Rueppell

Dean of Science, University of Alberta
dean.science@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: ultrasound; biology of acoustic communication in bats and mice; ecological, physiological, and anthropogenic effects on animal communication behaviours


Michael Litwack

Assistant Professor, English & Film Studies, Faculty of Arts
litwack@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: media theory, black cultural studies, critical race and ethnic studies, history of critical and cultural theory, genealogies of mediation and technology, post-humanisms


Torrey Loucks

Associate Professor, Department of Communication Sciences & Disorders, Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Research Chair, Institute for Stuttering Treatment and Research
loucks@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: stuttering, speech production, speech fluency, neuroscience


Sean Luyk

Digital Projects Librarian, Digital Initiatives, University of Alberta Libraries
sean.luyk@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: digital audio, listening, multimedia repositories, music research data


Elena Nicoladis

Professor, Psychology, Faculty of Science
elenan@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: childhood language acquisition and development, bilingual language acquisition, the relationship between gesture and speech, relationship between language and thought


Michael O’Driscoll

Professor, English and Film Studies, Faculty of Arts
mo@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: critical and cultural theory, material culture studies, archive theory, intermedia studies, oral literary performance, literary sound objects, radical poetics


Marilène Oliver

Assistant Professor, Art and Design, Faculty of Arts
marilene@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: visual art, printmaking, sculpture, installation, medical imaging, meaningful transformations of data related to the body and identity, sonification, transformation of medical scan signals to sound


Shama Rangwala

Faculty lecturer, Women’s and Gender Studies, Faculty of Arts
srangwal@ualberta.ca

Research Interests: ideology of film and literary adaptation, popular culture, American studies, critical theory, cultural studies, decolonial studies


Scott Smallwood

Associate Professor, Music, Faculty of Arts
scott.smallwood@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: music composition, field recording, acoustic ecology, new interfaces for musical expression (NIME), solarsonics (solar-powered sound making), audio gaming, ambisonics, multichannel audio


Colleen Cassady St. Clair

Professor, Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science
cstclair@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: effects of anthropogenic noise on wildlife communication and health, sensory perceptions by wildlife of anthropogenic sounds as deterrents and as attractants, learned associations (e.g. cues or warnings) in complex landscapes


Christopher Sturdy

Professor, Psychology, Faculty of Science
csturdy@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: comparative cognition, neuroethology, songbirds, perception, animal behaviour, operant conditioning, bioacoustics


Benjamin V. Tucker

Acting Director, Sound Studies Institute
Professor, Linguistics, Faculty of Arts
Email: bvtucker@ualberta.ca
Website

Research interests: phonetics, speech science, psycholinguistics, language documentation and revitalization